Winter Savior

Kin
0💸
Kumi
0💴
Trait Points
0⚔️
Awards
What I'm asking is how do you go about plotting out what your story is about, where you want to go, how it should be done etc etc.

Do you have a general story outline?

Do you make it up as you go?

Is it continuously evolving into something else than what it originally was or has it kept the same?

Do you outline it chapter by chapter?

Winter Savior

Kin
0💸
Kumi
0💴
Trait Points
0⚔️
Awards
Take an initial idea and build on it.

Honestly... I've been adding to my own story since 2007 and I'm nowhere near finished...
What do you mean? Are you going slow or are you just adding a lot to the story? if the latter, you could simply find a cutoff point and start another 'book' as a continuation of the first so at least you've finished one--or two considering it's five years compilation.

ShiningStar

Veteran
Kin
0💸
Kumi
0💴
Trait Points
0⚔️
I tend to make it up as I go. When I finish a chapter, I'll read it to make sure it make sense and then make changes to the choppy area. I'll re-read it a few more times for grammar and conventional errors. The longer the story becomes, then instead of making it up as I go, I'll switch to outlining it and planning every aspect of it.

Ciao

Elite
Kin
0💸
Kumi
0💴
Trait Points
0⚔️

When I write I usually pick a point where I want to start and where I want to end.

I usually have a plan on how I want a story to progress and write whatever naturally flows from my mind. I also reread what I write over and over to think of better alternatives to what I've already written.

Is it continuously evolving into something else than what it originally was or has it kept the same?

See my first answer.

If I write something with chapters I plan ahead and make sure then is a cliff hanger at the end to keep the story interesting.

Chakra Wizard

Elite
Kin
14💸
Kumi
0💴
Trait Points
0⚔️