[Tutorial] Basic Borders in Photoshop

Marcello1

Member
254 posts 57 reactions
Joined
Sep 6, 2012
Messages
254
Status
Activity Streak
Just a simple tutorial set for making your own borders in photoshop

1. Simple border
You must be registered for see images

First, open up your image

You must be registered for see images


Create a new layer (Ctrl+Shift+N) and use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to select the entire image

You must be registered for see images


Right click on the image and select Stroke. Change the color to what you desire and change the thickness based on the number of pixels. Make sure you have the Inside circle checked. I used the settings here to create the border above. Hit OK to apply.

You must be registered for see images

2. Multi-layered border
You must be registered for see images

First, open up your image

You must be registered for see images


Create a new layer (Ctrl+Shift+N) and use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to select the entire image.

You must be registered for see images


Right click on the image and select Stroke. Change the color to White and change the thickness to at least 2 Pixels. Make sure you have the Inside circle checked. Hit OK to apply.

You must be registered for see images


With the selection still active, right click on the image and select Stroke once more. Change the color to the color of your choice and the size to 1 Pixel. Make sure you have the Inside circle checked. Hit OK to apply.

You must be registered for see images

3. Dotted border
You must be registered for see images

First, open up your image.

You must be registered for see images


Create a new layer (Ctrl+Shift+N) and use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to select the entire image.

You must be registered for see images


Right click on the image and select Stroke. Change the color to White and change the thickness to your liking. I used a 2 Pixel stroke here to create a space between the border and the image, but you can use 1 Pixel as well. Make sure you have the Inside circle checked. Hit OK to apply.

You must be registered for see images


Create a New image (Ctrl+N) and change the size to 2 Pixels by 2 Pixels.

You must be registered for see images


Using the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) and the Paint Bucket Tool (G), create the below checkerboard pattern of black and white.

You must be registered for see images


Go to Edit > Define Pattern and rename it something.

You must be registered for see images


Close out of the checkerboard image without saving and create a new layer on your original image (Ctrl+Shift+N). Use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to select the entire image

You must be registered for see images


Right click on the image and select Stroke. Change the color to the color of your choice and change the thickness to 1 Pixel. Make sure you have the Inside circle checked. Hit OK to apply.

You must be registered for see images


Press the Add Layer/Vector Mask button underneath the layers' list (identified by the rectangle with the circle in it). Select the layer mask which has appeared next to your top layer.

You must be registered for see images


Select the Paint Bucket Tool (G) and click on the drop-down box which should say "Foreground" in it. Select the "Pattern" option and choose the checkerboard pattern you just created. With the layer mask selected, click on your image to get the dotted border effect (seen above).

You must be registered for see images

4. Dashed border
You must be registered for see images

First, open up your image.

You must be registered for see images


Create a new layer (Ctrl+Shift+N) and use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to select the entire image.

You must be registered for see images


Right click on the image and select Stroke. Change the color to White and change the thickness to your liking. I used a 2 Pixel stroke here to create a space between the border and the image, but you can use 1 Pixel as well. Make sure you have the Inside circle checked. Hit OK to apply.

You must be registered for see images


Create a New image (Ctrl+N) and change the size to 7 Pixels by 7 Pixels.

You must be registered for see images


Using the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) and the Paint Bucket Tool (G), create the below "T-shaped" pattern of black and white.

You must be registered for see images


Go to Edit > Define Pattern and rename it something.

You must be registered for see images


Close out of the "T-shape" image without saving and create a new layer on your original image (Ctrl+Shift+N). Use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to select the entire image

You must be registered for see images


Select the Paint Bucket Tool (G) and click on the drop-down box which should say "Foreground" in it. Select the "Pattern" option and choose the "T-shape" pattern you just created. With the layer mask selected, click on your image to get the dashed border effect.

You must be registered for see images

5. Brushed border
You must be registered for see images

First, open up your image.

You must be registered for see images


Now double click on the "Background" Layer's thumbnail to unlock that layer.

You must be registered for see images


Use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to make a selection within the borders of the image.

You must be registered for see images


With the selection active, press the Add Layer/Vector Mask button underneath the layers' list (identified by the rectangle with the circle in it). Select the layer mask which has appeared next to your top layer.

You must be registered for see images


With the layer mask selected, go to Filter > Filter Gallery

You must be registered for see images


Under Brush Strokes, select the Sprayed Strokes filter. Change the settings to suit your interests. I used the settings below.

You must be registered for see images
 

UchihaLightning

Jōnin Strategist 🧠
Veteran
2,391 posts 114 reactions
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
2,391
Status
Activity Streak
You got this off another website lol
 

Twilight

Sannin of the Scrolls 📜
Elite
7,361 posts 112 reactions
3
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
7,361
Status
Activity Streak
I will give you credit because it looks great
 

Deliquesce

Anbu Operative 🎭
Veteran
4,211 posts 567 reactions
10
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
4,211
Status
Activity Streak
thanks alot my friend for sharing!!!!!!
 

Cornballs227

Leaf Village Regular 🍃
Regular
878 posts 125 reactions
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
878
Status
Activity Streak
Thank you so much for making this tutorial! :win:
 
Top